Editing Your Brightback Cancel Page
This article will cover each of these in more depth.
Personalize your individual Pages to speak directly to your canceling customer by editing your Headline, Loss Aversion, Upper Nevermind, and Lower Nevermind.
The Headline is the line of text just below the logo on the Brightback Page. It's your first shot at saving your customer, by meeting them with a personalized message.
The Headline can be personalized by pulling any of your mapped fields in Brightback to display directly in the Page when the user initiates a session. Some common examples we see customers use to personalize their Cancel Pages include:
- Owner First Name
- Organization Name
- First Purchase Date
- Owner Email
- Subscription Renewal Date
- Lifetime Value
Loss Aversion Cards
Brightback's Cancel Page template comes with two Loss Aversion Cards. These cards present you with an opportunity to present your customers with information that will persuade them to not cancel or an Offer that you think is best positioned to retain them. You can edit the existing cards, create a new card, or swap out one of your existing LA cards for a new one from directly within the Page Editor. There are several different succesfful Loss Averson Card approaches, and we typically recommend testing a combination of personalization + Offers to maximize results.
Note: Each Brightback page comes with two LA cards by default. You can remove both of them to show no LA cards, but you cannot have a single card per-page, except for on mobile experiences where we only show a single LA card.
The Upper Nevermind is the button below the Loss Aversion Cards that offers the customer an immediate opportunity to turn back while it's not too late by navigating them away from the Brightback Page. We count clicks on this button as Passive Deflections in our reporting, and have seen customers with effective loss aversion and page persionalization drive >10% Passive Deflect Rates.
You can edit this section by clicking into it and opening the Warning message editor.
The Lower Nevermind is a Checkbox item at the close of the Brightback Page confirming the customer fully understands the loss that comes with canceling their account.
We have found that making this a required field will increase your overall Passive Deflect Rate, but some customers choose to disable it to reduce customer friction in the cancelation process.
The Brightback Page includes a few different exit survey options, each adding different value to the Brightback Page and insights collected in Brightback Reports. The different surveys include:
- Survey Question + Cancel Reasons
- Return Likelihood Survey
Survey Question + Cancel Reasons
Each Brightback Cancel Page allows you to present your canceling customers with Cancel Reasons. We break down our Brightback Cancel reasons into Categories for Benchmarking purposes, which you can learn about Reasons and Categories in greater detail here: Brightback Categories and Reasons. Each Cancel Reason allows you to present an Offer when the user clicks on it, or show nothing. Note: The Essentials Plan will only allow you to place a single Offer behind each of the reasons within a page, whereas the Performance Plan allows for multiple Reason Based Offers within a single page.
You can configure the Cancel Reasons and the Offers that are presented when a user selects them from directly within the Page Editor.
When a user selects this reason in the cancel experience, we will present them with the offer you have defined here. The reasons selected are reflected on the Cancel insights report.
You can configure the Competitor list from directly within the Page Editor.
You can edit the Return Likelihood section from directly within the page editor.
Comments can unearth potential winbacks campaigns, negative support experiences, technical hiccups, product feedback, or feature requests that might otherwise fly under the radar. You can find all Comments under Comments in the Customer Reports and Trends Report Drilldowns.
You can edit the Feedback input from directly within the page editor.
The page settings allow you to configure the key end-user actions and confirmation modal associated with your Cancel Experience.
The Confirmation Modal allows you to present your user with one last confirmation before they complete their cancelation. We often see customers use this as an opportunity to communicate any terms and conditions (example proration or credits) associated with the cancellation. It is also an opportunity to retain your customers with messaging about what they will lose or the implications of selecting confirm. However, you can choose to disable this modal if you would like to make the experience more seemless.
Setting up a Vanity URL
When your customer hits Cancel or Downgrade, we redirect customers to a page hosted on Brightback, but you can make it looks and feel like the customer is never leaving your site or app by setting up a custom domain using a CNAME.
Send us the custom domain you'd like to use for your cancel or downgrade page, like cancel.yourcompany.com, and we'll apply it to your account on the backend, but we'll need a little bit of lightweight lifting from your end too! Check out this guide to set up a custom domain by using a CNAME.